American Sniper Bulk

I’m curious what people think about this: American Sniper Workout

In light of the debate about bulking/cutting vs gaining slowly while staying lean, plus the fact that it’s such a dramatic transformation, I found it very interesting.

Bradley Cooper isn’t an athlete or super experienced lifter, but he wasn’t a complete novice either, and he managed to gain A LOT of muscle in a pretty short period of time. Obviously he’s a movie star, so had a lot of resources most people don’t, in terms of time / money, trainers and personal chefs and so on.

And all the supplements listed, plus potentially some that aren’t listed. But it seems pretty clear that he undertook a very successful old school bulk here, and packed on a lot of mass with minimal fat gain in a short time period.

Of course, there is the question of how seriously one should take the article. Variety (the movie biz trade magazine) published an interview with Bradley which says he “spent six months working out 4.5 hours a day.” That’s twice as long as the T-Nation article says it took him (3 months). Also, I personally am highly skeptical that the workouts listed would take 4.5 hours to complete. I’ve done long (close to 3-hour) workouts in the past, and what’s listed in the article doesn’t resemble them.

Even in the final weeks when volume has peaked, and you’re doing 10 sets of rack pulls, I don’t think the first workout would take more than 2 hours, and the second more than 1.5. So not sure where the 4.5 number comes from, unless the T-Nation routine is an incomplete picture.

Anyway, I’m tempted to try the program myself (with a few modifications) and see how much weight I can gain in 12 weeks, as an experiment.

the answer to “how much weight” you can gain should perhaps be changed to “how much muscle can i gain”

in 12 weeks unless a rank beginner, the answer is going to be not that much

of course you can gain as much “weight” as you like in 12 weeks

[quote]TheCB wrote: