T Nation

American Education

At the behest of a few people, I have started this thread to discuss American education.

Caveat emptor, I am a teacher, which means I am biased, but I welcome all opinions. The intent is to foster dialog and discussion without stifling any point of view.

With respect to credentials, I have a a B.A. in Speech Communication, a CLAD Certificate in Education (essentially a Master’s Degree), an M.A. in English, and an M.F.A. in Creative Writing.

I have three short stories published (not self published), and was a quarter finalist in the Creative World Awards screenwriting contest in 2015.

I have been teaching high school English since 2004. Prior to that, I was a PGA golf Pro in Florida, a Regional Sales Manger for a manufacturer of ductile iron pipe, and a Branch Manager of a tire store.

I have lived in Oregon, California, Maryland, Florida, and New York (currently on Long Island).

I have been to Germany, Spain, The Netherlands, Great Britain, Canada, and Mexico, in addition to many states in the U.S. - Nevada, Texas, Louisiana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Colarado, Wyoming, Wisconsin, New Jersey, Delaware, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Washington, Idaho, and Utah (do you like the Oxford comma)?

I would very much like to discuss what the ills are in American education and discuss any ideas with respect to solutions.

Cheers!

As someone who has no kids and didn’t spend much time in a traditional K-12 classroom, but has worked in lots of oregon K-12 school districts. I have noticed the students’ success and graduation rate is corellateable to the quality of the Principal. I’ve worked in rural and large school districts. Every school that had a personable, patient and non demanding principal, had a great group of teachers and students.

This anecdote is, of course, limited to my experience based on relationship during construction/demo etc. but it’s a correlation I’ve noticed.