T Nation

Am I Too Weak to Start Westside?

I am 18 6’0" 260

Bench: 280
Squat: 405 a little above parallel, but I got 355x4 below parallel last week
Rack Pull: 475 3-4 inches below the knees, I deadlifted 405 from the floor 10 months ago, but my form was so bad that I decided not to deadlift after that for fear of injury.

From what I have read you should be atleast an intermediate lifter to start something like Westside, and have a good base of strength.

I started lifting back in July, so ~11 months ago, I kept at it for 3 months before I stopped going to focus on school… ok actually I got lazy, so my break lasted for 4 months.

Now I have been back in the gym for 4 months and I am loving it, getting stronger and seeing my body comp change is great.

I am sure that I am serious about it this time, I decided to take this week off cause my joints were starting to feel beat up, and I hadn’t deloaded or took any time off the past 4 months. I was so tempted to go to the gym so many times, it took most of my will power to not lift weights.

I was thinking that Westside would be good for me because during my last chest day I did my usual… Which is building my way up to a 1rm… every week (Yea I have read that isn’t too smart). My previous PR was 275 2 weeks before and I had failed at 280 my last chest day, this time i got 280 up, but it was the longest rep of my life. It took atleast 5 seconds from chest to lockout. So that is when i said to myself “Hmmm maybe I need a DE day”

So am I too much of a beginner to start Westside, or should I go for it.

My goal would be to hit 315, 450, 450 by my 19th Birthday September 12th, With the aid of Westside, Foam roller, Stretching, Magnificent Mobility, and hard ass work.