Am I Skinny Fat? Bulk or Cut?

So, to start I know most lifters with under a year of experience ask this question. I have searched forum after forum to give me an answer and I’ve found tons of great ones but in the end I find myself asking if any of it applies to me. I’ve learned a lot from T-Nation so I figured I would ask the people I trust most.

I’m 21, 6’1, 184 lbs last body fat test was 14.6%. I started lifting in September of 2018 at 197 lbs (with a very bad idea of what a good calorie deficit was) lost 20 pounds, and gained very little muscle. During this I dislocated my knee and was out of the gym from October to January, gained all the weight back and restarted in January. I’ve lost 12 pounds on a good clean cut at around a 800 calorie deficit. I’ve seen big strength gains and PRs way above where I started but now I’m starting to slowly stall on some lifts.

I find myself stuck between caring about the extra little fat on my body but really wanting to continue to increase the weight on my lifts. I’ll include lift numbers and body pics (before and after) below. only lift not included is squats because I never really worked on them until 2–3 weeks ago due to the knee.

Lifts:
OHP: January 1st- 90lbs 1RM. March 30th- 95lbs 3x5
Bench: January 1st- 150 1RM. March 30th- 165lbs 3x5
Deadlift: February 3rd- 300 1RM. March 30th- 285lbs 1x5 (I don’t remember what my January 1st 1RM was. Maybe 250-270)

Pic 1 and 2 are from January.

Pic 3 and 4 are from March.

A little system I’m a fan of using in these situations is the following:

If I want to be bigger, I gain weight.

If I want to be smaller, I lose weight.

2 Likes

My advice is to just lift. Period. To be brutally honest, you don’t have very much muscle mass on you right now. You need to focus on the big compound lifts, stop worrying about 1RMs and focus on volume and form. Keep your diet clean but substantial so you’re not in a deficit. Muscle burns calories and increases your metabolism.

3 Likes