T Nation

Am I Ready for Gear?

I weigh 220, I've been lifting heavy stuff for 2 years. I have a 315 bench, 440 squat with wraps and a belt, and 485 deadlift, though i feel with chalk i would be good for about 500.

I have no meet in particular to train for.

Am i in the ballpark? where were you when you started, and do you regret starting at that time?

Is it generally better to start with shitty loose or hand-me-down gear, or blow my wad on the good stuff?

I started with gear when I had a 225 bench, 320 squat and 400 deadlift. It won't hurt to get into gear early. With single ply, you can probably jump straight into a snug fitting Titan Centurian, and a loose Titan F6 for benching. If you're sumo you'd want a suit straight up, otherwise there's no harm in waiting.
The gist of it is you can get the good stuff for squat and deadlift, but probably avoid the top-of-the-line shirts until you've got a bit more gear-whoring under your belt.

So long as you keep trying to get stronger raw AND in equipment, it won't do you no harm.

Smoke- Really at those numbers? I weigh 180 and I'm 235/340/435 and I wouldn't even consider gear with those kind of stats. What have you lifts progressed to while using some gear? /Hijack

Third- your bench and squat sound solid, I don't think your DL is anywhere near needing gear to get to another level though. Seems low in ratio to your other 2 lifts.

Either way you have me stomped, so take what I say with a few grains of salt.

I started using gear when I was about 230, squatted low 400s, benched around 325 and deadlifted low 500s. I'd start with some used and/or hand me down gear to get used to the idea and then step it up from there. I started with some really crappy Inzer gear and have now progressed to the best stuff Titan makes (single ply).

My bench is still pretty terrible, and I've missed 440 raw on the squat a few times. All IPF legal, and equipped numbers are comp results.
Raw:
Squat 190kg 418 lbs
Bench 140kg 308 lbs