T Nation

Am I Overtraining

I am 16 and I have been lifting for over 2 years now. During those 2 years i have put on 60 lbs. of muscle. I am going back to the basics but i am worried that i am overtraining.
My current routine is Monday/Wednesday/Friday.
my workout:
squats- 5<> 6-8
bench press- 5<> 6-8
lat pulldown- 5<> 6-8
shoulder press- 5<> 6-8
shrugs- 2<> 10-12
curls- 3<> 6-8
triceps extension- 3<> 6-8
calf raise- 5<> 10-20
My tempo is 3-0-2-0
If i am overtraining please reply. Any modifications to my routine would be nice.

Hey, 30 lbs a year doesn’t sound to bad to me! But I do think that your current routine is on the long side. Make some recommendations for you? Here goes, check out the FAQ section of this website and do a search for Ian King’s article, “A thinking man’s guide to sets and reps.” Best of luck.

Can you do more each successive workout? If you can’t, you aren’t necessarily overtraining, you are simply training ineffectively. BTW, at 14-16,how much taller did you get? Thats a pretty explosive age period for most males. I didn’t lift weights during that period, and remember gaining 40 lbs.

“you aren’t necessarily overtraining, you are simply training ineffectively” What the hell does that meen? If you are saying that he just lifts the same amout every workout and doesn’t even try to lift more, yes, I would call that “training ineffectively” but then again why have sex when masterbation is sufficient? The point I am trying to make is that most of the “younger” (in lifting experience not age) trainies do lift with an adaquate amount of motivation, it’s just their program is very poorly designed. A properly designed program should lead to increases in the amount of work done (which can be accomplished through a variety of methods) from workout to workout, without straining so hard that your eyes pop out of your head.