T Nation

Am I In The Right Game?

Hello Fellas- I am new to the forum and would like to take a second to say What's up...

To the question at hand. I am also kinda new to the lifting world and wonder if I'm on the wrong planet. I have been seriously lifting for approximately 3 months. On and off for the past year with no true schedule.

Since then I have only gained 1/2 -3/4 of an inch in my arms and about 1-2 inches in my chest/back.

Curious if I am making any true gains or am I just spinning my wheels. Please advise if I sound like a hard gainer and if I need to step it up about 40-50 notches. Thanks in advance.

I know that yuo will ask about diet, so here it goes. I mostly have been following the ABS DIET for about two weeks with extra protien and some extra carbs. So let me have it.

You've only been dieting for 2 wks? You're on an 'abs' diet, which I assume is designed to get your abs showing and yet you want to gain muscle?

You don't have a workout plan and therefore I assume you don't have a workout log.

You're not in the wrong game. You're just not doing it right.

You need 1) a workout plan. You need to know what you're doing before you hit the gym. This site has thousands of programs. Pick one. Stick to it for 6-8weeks.
2) A workout log. If you're not recording your efforts in the gym, then you don't know what you're trying to beat next time you go. Record all your workouts
3) A diet plan. You can't gain weight without eating a lot of food. Eat a lot of food with no plan and you'll put on too much fat. Again, this site has heaps of diets to try.
4) A diet log. For obvious reasons.
5) A goal. Do you want to gain muscle or lose fat? It's possible to do both, but difficult. Better to pick one or the other.

TO conclude. Of course you're spinning your wheels. You're not attending to any of the basics. Get the above list in order and you'll make excellent progress. Miss any one of these and you'll struggle.