T Nation

Am I Dying?

Listen to this - a old friend of mine is a kidney doctor and he has informed me that I am digging my own grave. I told him that I’ve been consuming 350-400g Protein a day for several years now. He has suggested that at my size my daily intake should be no more than 170g. I weigh about 245 with around 10%BF. He says burn victims and severely injured patients get at the most 250g P a day. I thought I was doing what is best to help/enhance my musculature. Please - ANYONE - what is safe and sound. I do want to live for at least another 40 years (I’m 43). He said guys like me are only going to end being the best looking people in the morgue.

Read Cy Willson’s articles. Also, remember that this “high protein causes kidney problems” myth started back in the 50’s or 60’s when doctors put people who already had kidney disease on a high protein diet. Of course, they had trouble! No shit! If you don’t have kidney disease, there’s not a problem. Your doc is either old and out of touch or ignorant- or both. If in doubt, drink more water just in case.

My brother is a kidney doctor, very well respected in his field (he just presented a paper in Brazil at a huge conference and was the youngest doc there by 10 years), and he said nobody has ever shown link between high protein diets and kidney probs. He doubts there is a link, but he doesn’t completely rule it out. He wouldn’t recommend a high protein diet, but he also feels at this point there is no real reason to believe it is any more dangerous than a moderate protein diet.

i’ve never seen a scientific article that states that high protein levels are harmful. but, 400 grams seems a bit excessive for a 245 pounder.

Pete, I don’t think that 400 grms. is excessive at 245 lbs. As far as bodybuilding goes it’s right in the ballpark, as far as ideal for health, well that’s the whole debate. I’d say lots of water, maybe some cranberry pills or something if your especially concerned.