T Nation

Am I Doing Too Much Too Soon?

Hi All,
I’ve been lifting for almost three months now and have a concern about maintaining back health without finding out one day that I did too much too soon. I had lifted on and off for years and went on a regular 1 year consistent streak until I got achilles tendonitis. I took 6 months off and now i’m back in the game.

Right from the start I was doing conventional deads, stiff leggeds/romanians, and bent over rows. My back feels great so I’m assuming that what I feel as heavy weight is ok for my body to handle. I’m doing 135lbs in the conventional deads, 115 lbs in SLDL/RDLs, and 115 lbs in bent over rows. I’m 36 years old, 6’4" and weight 220, but those weights still feel heavy for me. I feel that if I go heavier at this point I’m going to break something. I was researching more about the difference between SLDLs and RDLs and realized that what I thought was an SLDL was actually me doing an RDL. I keep my knees bent and my back arched. I begin the movement by sticking my ass out like I’m going to sit in a chair that’s far behind me and bend over until my back is parallel to the floor, all the while looking forward. I thought that was a SLDL, but from what I’ve read I was actually doing an RDL because I’m not lowering my back to the point where it rounds, and I have my knees bent, not straightened like on the SLDL.

Basically, I’m interested in knowing, am I using too much weight this early in my training? I feel like these are heavy weights and sometimes I worry that I’m putting my body through too much too soon. However, I do get a good workout and I don’t get back pain of any kind. Should I continue with the aforementioned loads (usually do 4 sets of each exercise at 6 -8 reps)???

Also, is what I’m really doing a romanian deadlift? And, is the romanian safer for the spinal discs than the SLDL?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.