T Nation

Am I Doing Too Much? Program Critique

Hey everyone, long time reader first time poster

Little about myself, I have been working out for over 14 years, my main goal always had been symmetry and aesthetics. was never really huge on strength and power. over 2012 i reached a new bench press pr and also fell in love with Olympic lifts.

I am bringing few body parts up (lat thickness, traps, rear shoulders, mainly upper back thickness)for a better symmetry, I’ll be quiet happy with my size in summer, which is 150-155lb 9% body fat. My new goal is to become as strong as i can before i have to start my cutting phase, which i am going to go about a different way this year (heavy weights low reps circuits) will start Feb 1st 2013, because of that i looked through and found something i really liked, now i am not sure if i am over training and doing too much.

my main goals are to thicken out my back, bring up my power cleans and bench press. so i am following a Russian strength program, so i figure out I’ll try it, the original was Monday, Wednesday and Friday, i tried to do bench and power clean back to back, but i don’t think i can finish it when it comes to heavier days. so i thought i split it and this is what my new program looks like now. the duration of the program is 6 weeks.

I’d appreciate some input, i am still sore from the first day of 2nd week, my hams are killing me. recovery from the cleans is already becoming a factor. i am eating well, lots of food and protein. and 8-9 hours of sleep a day. also this is all natural, without any sort of “help”

P.S. I am not doing squats because i pretty much squat clean the power clean, no DL because it will over stimulate the CNS. and no OHP because I have lot of presses and racking on the front shoulders. need to keep them healthy and not hurting.

Sunday
Bench press
Band high rep tri ext 20-30 x 2 sets

Monday
Power clean