Alternatives To Squatting (Knee Injuries)

So I am becoming a personal trainer and for my final exam I must train someone on my course for whatever area they want to improve we chose strength as I have some experience on it, I was just going to do a simple 5x5 Plan at 85%+ as that is what the curriculum would favour…

He has a serious knee issue where he basically smashed his patella to pieces and he gets injections in it every so often he says it affects him in high impact sports, I got him doing a 60kg squat for 5 and he did it well but I doubt it was his 85%+ of 1RM so I want to show the assesor I can get him stronger but also cater for his injury so has anyone got any ideas?

I am re habing my knee at the moment. It is a serious challenge as I am way under my normal weights and the knee act up.
I use box squat just above the knees or single leg squat
or I can do some leg press and leg curls but not yet and maybe never back to pre injury standard.
You can try to rise his heels or toes and see if one is easier on his knee
That is part of coaching, being able to evaluate the client specific limitations

1 Like

Prowler pushes and drags. No eccentric loading.

2 Likes

Back when my knees were growling at me I found shallow ROM super-high rep leg presses worked well.

1 Like

Dragging stuff is awesome. Deadlift should be fine, even when I had tendonitis I deadlifted plenty without trouble

Partial range (pain free range) squat, hip hinge movements and hip dominant movements. Communicate with the participant before hand, figure out what gives them pain. An important element to coaching is athlete communication, if you can demonstrate that in the exam it will be a huge plus point for yourself