Alternative to Pull-Ups!

Hey I just started lifting a month back… and yeah figured that my lats are pretty weak. I can’t possibly do a single pull up… and was wondering whether anyone has a routine to strengthen back as a whole !

slave, I’m struggling with something similar.

http://www.T-Nation.com/tmagnum/readTopic.do?id=2004438

is a topic I recently opened up.

45 and 90 degree bent over rows are great and so are one-arm dumbbell rows.

Rack pull ups and medium / close grip pull ups are also the best way to get your pull up numbers up.

If you want to strengthen your back work out 4 times per week and do an upper/lower body split

on your upper body day make sure you do some selection of:
rack pull ups, dips, rows, decline throw overs (think its called this, when you lay on a decline and hold a dumbbell between both hands and throw it from overhead to your chest)

on your lower body day do deadlifts and squats (among other things you’d like to do)

Negatives have helped me with back strength. You kick, or cheat, your way up on the concentric movement, then lower yourself slowly on the eccentric portion.

There’s something called fat man pull-ups. I’m not exactly sure what they are, but they are said to be useful for building strength for those not strong enough [or too fat] to do regular pull-ups. But I would still train the pull-up movement itself. Build strength with assisted pull-ups and assisted chins if you have access to a machine you can do them on.

Try a chin up (palms towards you) or a neutral grip chin up (palms towards each other), even if you can only do 1.

Look up “Keep your chin up” an article by CT.

[quote]jsbrook wrote: