Altering the 5/3/1 Plan for Individuality

I’ve been doing a couple strength plans for a while and I was wondering if I changed some accessory movements say, from dumbell press to a decline dumbell and 1 arm row to a barbell row will I see results as these movements I have been doing for a long time and I reckon that’s why my Deadlift has gone up because I never did Good Mornings before I was thinking…

Changing chin ups to have the last set as failure then when I feel I can do a lot more I will add weight and start setting new records (Same for dips as I am quite new to them)

Changing Bench day accessories to a Decline Dumbell Press and a Barbell Row with the same peroidization method as mentioned above

And I may change leg press to split squats and have the same reps scheme as compounds where the last set is amrap?

Do you think this is a good idea I think changing it would help a lot as I was struggling to do a 100kg deadlift a couple months back and now I reckon it’s around 140kg at least, obviously de load week I won’t do AMRAP on anything.

Dude, it’s assistance. Do whatever.

5 Likes

Yeah spending too much time worrying about what assistance lifts you’re going to do is a good way to mess yourself up. Just pick some lifts from each category and see if they help your main lifts. If they don’t, try something else. I will say that decline presses of any kind are usually a waste of time. Dips are a vastly superior option to those.

2 Likes

The original excersize was Dumbell Press, I do dips in the plan already and wanted to focus on something with a pressing motion, what about incline?

It’s not that important. Do whatever keeps you in line with your goals, present conditioning, yadida etc.

^ What they said. Find your weak points in the main lifts and do assistance to target those weak points. It will be a while before your weak points are no longer weak points, so continue doing the assistance exercises that help you fight those the most for a long time.