All Pain, No Gain!

I write now because I am running out of Ideas. I have a subscapularis tendon inflammation (tendonitis, bursitis whatever you want to call it). In other words I experience a burning sensation on the front humeral head (the insertion of the subscapularis). I experienced this first a few years back when I first started working out. As an uninformed lifter, I adhered to the ?touch your chest? philosophy (I still do but with scapular retraction and chest up to limit ROM slightly), which led to an injury that made me stop training.

A few years later after following certifications, classes and much reading I decided I was informed enough to train without injury. It worked very well for almost 2 years until recently. I have been working a lot on heavy weight, low rep. When I hit my PR on bench I quickly had to stop benching because pains surfaced. I worked my way back up very near my old PR but once again the pain resurfaced.

I balance my ER/IR work and as a result of resent events have adopted a rehabilitation program that includes A LOT of ER work.

I progressed my push exercises and experienced no pain at weighted push-ups, cable cross-overs, floor presses but yesterday I went back to flat DB Press with good weight (only 5% less than at my peak) for 10 reps and felt strong. However this morning the pain returned. It?s not unbearable and far less intense then before but I am still no very happy about it.

My form, ROM and technique are good, my posture is good (I do not have an off center humeral head). I have asked other trainers about my technique/posture/ROM and have done muscle test for all rotator cuffs and long head bicep and everything seems to be in order. But evidently something is wrong.

The question is, what should I do? I ordered ?release your pain? but it will only get here in a few weeks time? Should I try Active Release Technique? What is it? Should I go see a physiotherapist? Is icing enough?