All OLY/Only OLY?

Hey guys I’ve been doing olympic weightlifting for the past 5-6 months (from a bodybuilding type regimen with power lifting thrown in as well, whatever you may call it) and I must admit they have me hooked! My strength has increased a great deal and I feel as though my technique is improving as well. One thing I did upon taking up olympics, however, was abandoning all bodybuilding movements.

I guess you can say I have the attitude that if it wasn’t directly supporting my total, I wasn’t going to have anything to do with it. My question is if this was a good choice or not; can I or should I still be doing isolation movements for my arms, bench presses for chest, etc.? My legs, back, and traps have gotten bigger and more defined, but everything else is not nearly as nice looking as it was 6 months ago.

Yet again, if this will infringe upon my progress in olympics for any reason (potentially decreased flexibility?) I could care less because my only true goal is strength, but if I can have some looks to go with it I absolutely wouldn’t mind either. Any opnions are greatly appreciated and sought after, thanks for reading.

You’ll get mixed replies here.

The soviets and eastern europeans used a lot of exercies…sometimes even the bench press !!

Also, a lot of the York guys did the lifts plus pulls, presses in the rack, rows…I think if you look at pics of guys from the 60’s and 70’s, you’ll notice they have much better builds.

The current trend is to do ONLY the 2 lifts and squats. I’ve tried both ways, and overall, I think the mixed approach is better…but thats for a mix of competing in OL and for sports.

I have curled and done inclines while preparing for a meet. I’ve also done only the lifts + squats…not much difference for me.

Work on your flexibility. For me, also, I noticed inclines tend to help my press and jerk, while benches make my shoulders tight.