T Nation

All of a Sudden, I'm Old

Welp, seems like only a few weeks ago I was a beginner on here with a different username, a young man with hopes, dreams, aspirations, and a whole new world of lifting in front of me. Now I'm 35, and posting in the "T-Replacement" and "mature lifters" section. Seems like so much has changed, but really, I don't feel so different. Maybe a little wiser and more skilled in a variety of ways, and I definitely take longer to heal. Well, let's see what we can do about that.

Got back in the gym on Friday for the first time in months - I've gone from about 200 to about 180 in the last 6 months, and my hormones have been all sorts of jacked up because of stress, lack of sleep, and a back injury which I'm still recovering from. I've been able to run and swim this summer, but haven't lifted since May. My goal is to see how close I can get to 200 by the end of the year, and still try to maintain some leanness.

The program so far:
45lb bent over rows
15lb dumbell flys (flat bench)
35lb double dumbell squat clean and press
15lb lat raises

swiss-ball bent over leg raises
swiss-ball extended situps

Trying to focus on elongating my hip flexors to help with the back issues, while strengthening my core to foster better stability.

Going to trade off with lat pulls, squats, and bench press.

Cardio-wise, I'll stick with the occasional run and swim on off-days.

It’s funny how age sneaks up on you. You’re still on the very young end of this forum. Welcome.

[quote]kpsnap wrote:
It’s funny how age sneaks up on you. You’re still on the very young end of this forum. Welcome.[/quote]

Thanks brother. Yeah, I realized that unless I got back on top of my health I’d never get out from under it. The time is now.

My rules are simple: Make gains. Don’t get hurt. Look and feel epic.

[quote]SvartSvensk wrote:

Thanks brother.
Correction: Thanks “sister”

[quote]bulldog9899 wrote:

[quote]SvartSvensk wrote:

Thanks brother.