Alfran's Quest for Supremacy

Hello everyone,

I guess it’s time I started my own training log here, since I’ve been a member for a couple of weeks now and seen a lot of members posting their TLs and sticking to their respective programs.

I just finished the first 12 weeks of Stronglifts and I am simply amazed at how strong I am and look compared to three months ago (Not very impressive, but it’s a start).

I’ve been training on and off for the past five years or so, and have read several books and internet articles on fitness. In any case, I want to be a bodybuilder and my goal is to compete in about three years. I don’t know if that goal is realistic or not, or if I can compete sooner or if it’ll take me more time. Guess that’s part of the reason I’m here: There’s still a lot of shit I don’t know but am very eager to learn.

Ok, my numbers:

Height: 6’
Bodyweight: 286 lbs. (Started with 282 lbs).
% bodyfat: 27% (Started with 33%).

And my current strenght levels (All are 5RM, since all I’ve been doing for the past 3 months has been Stronglifts):

Back Squat: 185
Bench Press: 185
Barbell Back Row: 145
Overhead Press: 120
Deadlift: 210

I know those numbers are a bit low. The reason is I had two discal hernias a couple of years ago so I’m very VERY careful with my back (I think they’re L4-S1 and S1-S2). Rather than considering them a reason to holf back, I consider them my best friends, since they tell me when I’m fucking up my form. The squat has been my biggest challenge since I have problems hitting parallel. Funny thing is, the DL doesn’t nag my low back since I got the form right. My guess is I have some problems with hip mobility since I did a couple of hip mobility drills the past week and my low back felt so much better when squatting.