T Nation

After How Long Should You Take a Break from Training?

I have been training intensely for 5 months now. Got really strong a lost aroung 30 pounds. However after so many months of training I am burnt, I just want to stop. Is it ok to take a couple of weeks off or is it not recommended.
Kind of planning of taking 2 weeks off after December 15.

You’ll be fine, make sure you come back though haha

Also, dont freak out if the first day (or week) back feels terrible.

You may want to take scheduled deloads when you return.

I read that I should deload 10% when I get back. The fact that I am considering deloading is a testament of how burnt I feel lol.

If you are training with any sort of intensity, you will need lighter weeks here and there. That’s part of the process.

There are actually 2 schools of thought here. One is you take periodic week or so long breaks in your training where you only train at 50% or so of your max. These are frequently built into the program you are running, like 5/3/1 does. Another is you adjust your volume, intensity, and frequency so that you in theory never need a deload week. I tend to do better on the second approach I have found, but everyone is different.

5/3/1 has built in deloads for a reason.

Just saying.

I do 531. Deloads is not 100% resting. You are still lifting.

Taking a couple of weeks off is a terrible idea. Taking one week off is something experienced lifters can get away with after a focused period of peaking (like right after a competition).

Taking a couple of weeks of less stressful training to recharge your mind and let your body recover can be a good idea if programmed properly. Taking one week of less stressful training is a very common approach that many, many lifters follow.

Doing no exercise for two weeks, especially around the holidays, is a great way to put back on some of those 30 pounds you just lost.

What has your training and diet looked like these past 5 months?