T Nation

After 1 year...

I started training in September of last year (2010)

I set some goals for myself (they have all fell short unfortunately, but I did make a lot of progress)

Background info: No sports or training background at all. I was a fatass as a teenager (180) and by the time college started I became a dieting idiot (barely ate anything to lose the weight) went down to 140 (skin n bones)

I've learned a lot about nutrition in the past couple of years and decided to take things to the next level and began training and eating properly.

When I started I was weak as hell (using just the empty barbell for many movements and 10 lb DB's)

Anyways, heres where I'm at now (these are all 5RM).

Bench: 195 (wanted to hit 2 plates)

Squat: 265 (wanted 3!)

Deadlift: 285 (same)

Strict standing Overhead Press - 135

Barbell curl - 115

Pullups - 30 reps BW, I can do weighted with 25 lbs for 5

Weighted dips - 45 lbs

Anyway I started this post because I was upset with not hitting my goals but looking at it now in hindsight I'm not totally disappointed because I still made a lot of progress.

Cheers,
WM

Good for you for setting goals. I think this is great for one year's progress considering you started with an empty bar, and I'm sure you've learned a ton.

Whats your weight at right now? Age?

great progress bro, i dont know how you could have wanted more than that, anything over 100 pounds in a years is amazing, keep up the good work

nice lifting man! lets see if you can double those lifts next year :slight_smile:

Not bad at all. Progress is progress. Good luck on the next phase.

That really is good progress for only one year training ever. Keep at it, you'll be a beast before you know it.

Just weighed myself (before bed) at 210. I'm 25 years old.

I'm not sure how much of my gains were strength and and how much was just getting used to the movements and being more neurally efficient, but if you guys thinks I didn't do so bad maybe I your right?