T Nation

'Afraid of Overtraining'

I saw this in a forum today and thought it was hilarious! What is bad, is the dude was serious.

I'm afraid of over training, which is the reason I want to train as little as possible.

I started training in the 90's, when Yates was king, and every article you reasd was about not overtraining. In hindsight, it was a bad thing that myself, and I'm sure countless other new trainers around the world got it into their head to somehow hold themselves back in the gym, instead of focusing on optimizing their recovery to balance everything out and support progress.

As I learned more and mroe about nutrition, and really started "covering every base" that I could, I also evolved into much more of a volume trainer. Eventually, I would even learn to control excessive fatigue, while still doing tons of volume.... and in doing so, make my best gains.

IMO, unless you've got a crazy physical job, 5 days a week, 9-5, get very little sleep, and suffer a horrible diet, chances are you don't need to worry about possibly doing too much in the gym.

S

I am someone who has apparently not figured out how to optimize my recovery. I can fairly easily do more sets in the gym than I can recover from; if I do too much I just start to get weaker on the big lifts.

I was a sufferer of overtraining back in my college swimming days. I was doing 2 hour evening practices 5 days a week, 3 mornings a week , and a meet every weekend. During the first half of the year, I was getting maybe 6 hours of sleep a night and eating as well as I could on a meal plan. I toed the line of overtraining pretty much the entire first half of the season, but I made it through.