T Nation

Afraid I Won't Be Ready for FB Season

I train 5 days a week. I currently am a Quarterback at my highschool. I’m a sophomore and i play varsity, my dream is to play at the collegiate level and hopefully one day compete in the NFL. My trainer works a lot on balance and core work for me because that is the main thing that is used for quarterbacks. I still lift weights with him and speed train daily. I trust what he is doing because he played for the New York Giants as a running back.

However, I’m afraid that im not seeing results. And wont be ready for the season because he doesn’t work on conditioning me that much. So i thought i would start performing HIIT.

My plans are to do the following:
3 sets of:
- 30 second jog - 15 second sprint
- 12 Jump Squats
- 12 Jump Squats
- This completes 1 set
Rest 30 seconds
Repeat for 3 sets
Then after completing this i thought i would do 3 sets of the following:
- 30 second light jump rope - 20 second very fast jump rope
- 15 Puhsups
- 12 Pushups
- This completes 1 set
- Rest for 30 seconds
Repeat for 3 sets.

I wouldn’t worry about conditioning at all until 6-8 weeks out from camp.

If your trainer was a former pro, I’d definitely listen to him. He’s been where you want to be. Talk to him about your concerns, don’t just add in extra stuff as you see fit.

[quote]JerryRicePwns wrote:
I train 5 days a week. I currently am a Quarterback at my highschool. I’m a sophomore and i play varsity, my dream is to play at the collegiate level and hopefully one day compete in the NFL. My trainer works a lot on balance and core work for me because that is the main thing that is used for quarterbacks. I still lift weights with him and speed train daily. I trust what he is doing because he played for the New York Giants as a running back.

However, I’m afraid that im not seeing results. And wont be ready for the season because he doesn’t work on conditioning me that much. So i thought i would start performing HIIT.