T Nation

Advice w/ My Situation (IBS/Anti-Depressants)

Hey, long time lurker, just signed up.

I've been training for about 8 months now, I follow an upper/lower routine, track my macros etc, believe I've got things right with regards to training and nutrition.

The problem I have is that I suffer from fairly severe IBS, as such I am lactose and gluten free - this doesn't affect meeting my nutritional goals, the only problem is that even following a strict diet, I still have some IBS symptoms. IBS has also had an impact mentally, I've been taking Cymbalta 60mg (Duloxetine) for a few months now after initially taking Citalopram.

The reason for telling this is that recently I've really been struggling - I'm still getting to the gym as per schedule but when I'm there the intensity isn't there, it's hard to go 100% when you're a bit bloated, and also I feel like the Cymbalta is numbing me? The motivation is there from me wanting to reach goals, but when I'm at the gym, I'm not getting stronger, despite my program being basic and focusing on progressive overload - I feel part of this is down to me mentally - but I didn't have this issue before the Cymbalta.

The way my reps drop off now when I increase weight on a exercise seems excessive, for example, BB benching 2x20kg for 3x10, going up to 2X22kg and then managing 10, 4 and then having to go back down to 20 and managing another 4. I seem to vary from one session to the next in terms of strength. It's not diet related, I am steadily gaining weight. Most morning I'm very tired though, despite any amount of sleep, so recovery might be an issue, again I think this is related to Cymbalta.

Anyone else have experience with managing IBS and anti-depressants with regard to training? I want to overcome this, and I don't think it's laziness or not wanting it enough.

There could be a number of factors, so here’s a few things to think about:

• You may simply be hitting some limits with the progressive overload.