T Nation

Advice to Get Strong/Reach Goals?

My goal is to get a very strong Front Squat, Deadlift, and Press. I have been lifting for about 10 months, so I’m not exactly new, but still a beginner. I weigh 170, and am almost 17.

Current/Goal
FSQ ~150/225
DL 255/315
Press 135/175

Not huge goals, but good starting places I think. What would be the best or fastest way to reach these goals?

[quote]Rigi wrote:
My goal is to get a very strong Front Squat, Deadlift, and Press.

…What would be the best or fastest way to reach these goals?[/quote]
You have powerlifting goals so use a powerlifting program.

Step 1) Research powerlifting programs

Step 2) Decide which one best suits you

Step 3) Do chosen program with consistency and intensity until you reach your goal

(other than that you are just asking for opinions)

Well wouldn’t a powerlifting program be based on the back squat/deadlift/bench? I guess I could switch some of the program around, but I don’t think it’d be the same. I am in a way asking for people’s opinions though

[quote]Rigi wrote:
My goal is to get a very strong Front Squat, Deadlift, and Press. I have been lifting for about 10 months, so I’m not exactly new, but still a beginner. I weigh 170, and am almost 17.

Current/Goal
FSQ ~150/225
DL 255/315
Press 135/175[/quote]
Dan John’s Southwood routine is perfect for you, for so many different reasons.

Also, understand that you’ll need to be eating appropriately and you’re almost certain to “accidentally” gain weight as you go along, especially since you’re nearly 6 foot. Tall strong guys are not skinny.

Something’s weird here. This is, like, the third or fourth thread in the last few weeks asking for the fastest way to their goals. Dude, fast is good, but the best way is to not try to get there fast. You’re crazy young and you’ll be lifting for decades. You’ve got time.

And along those lines, everything JLo wrote is an excellent general approach for the long-term.

[quote]Rigi wrote: