Advice to Come to America

As some of you know, I have a desire to move to the US and become a citizen. Can anyone here advise how I would go about it?

Is an employee visa the best way, or should I aim for a lottery visa?

I am not an expert, but I believe the work visa would be a better plan than a lottery visa. EB2 visa is probably a good way to go, although depending on your job you might be an EB1. I am not sure how experience in law is classified honestly.

Regardless, I think that would be much better than trying for a lottery.

Do Ireland and America have a working holiday visa agreement?

Many Anglo countries have agreements for people ages 18-29 where they can live and work in each others countries for up to 12 months.

I’ll have to look into it, but that makes a lot of sense.

Just checked and they do have one. I’ll have to have a look into that, thanks!

The other choice is to enter a degree program here, but a work visa is the easiest approach

2 Likes

Appreciate the advice, guys. Apparently my other half’s employer has a Salt Lake city branch, so I am going to start researching this and look into a Utah extraction.

2 Likes

You could always jump the fence at the US/MEX border and just not leave.

Works for millions!

1 Like

No idea of your political and/or social leanings, but Utah is a very conservative state and still dominated heavily by the Mormon church. Just an FYI

Not a problem.

Maybe a little bit of a problem.

Thanks for the heads up!

I wonder if a Coyote will take me from Belfast to the Rio Grande?

2 Likes

Coyote! You don’t need no stinking Coyote!

At this point it’s probably more difficult to get into Mexico than the US.

I wouldn’t worry too much about the Mormons, great people. It’s the californians you have to look out for!

I Would love to relocate to Utah, california sucks.

1 Like