T Nation

Advice Staining/Sealing Cedar Deck

Hey guys,
I’ll let the cat out of the hat premature. I just bought a new house! woo hoo

? for you. Since I’m new to this home owner stuff. What do I do with my deck? Right now I am having a 12’x16’ cedar deck added on. It is pressure treated cedar.

How long after the deck is completed should I stain or seal it. Is stain and seal the same thing? What is the process? Anyone recommend any good stains / sealers? I’d like to keep the color of the wood as it is right now. a yellowish look.

Suggestions?

Well, to check to see if the deck is ready to accept stain/sealer is easy. Just dump a cup full of water on it. If it beads up, the deck isn’t ready; if it soaks in, the deck is ready.

As for stains or sealers, a stain is going to give you better UV protection, preventing the wood from “graying”. A stain will generally have more color to it than a sealer. Some sealers are clear, some have a little color. Don’t get Thompson’s, unless you want to redo it every year, and it will still turn gray (no UV protection). I believe Olympic (Lowe’s) still sells a 2 year clear sealer that has a UV protector in it. That seems like is may be what you are looking for:
http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?action=productDetail&productId=194540-86-79030A/05&lpage=none

Go to Lowe’s or Depot and look at all the color samples. Get some different colors, and put them on an extra piece of scrap cedar, to get a good idea of the color. Once you find a color, use a thick roller to apply the stain to your deck, and get a brush to do the railing, etc.

Anything else?