T Nation

Advice on Workout Goals

Hey guys,

Ive been working out for a couple of years and like to think ive made lots of progress. At this moment, I am looking to increase the weights on my olympic lifts (power snatch, hang snatch, push presses etc) and deadlift. My current stats are as follows:

Weight: 205 lbs
Body fat: 17%
Bench Press: 245 max
Back Squat: 315 max
Deadlift: 275 max

My current workout schedule is as follows:

Day 1:

Power Snatch (4 sets of 4)
Back Squats (3 sets of 10)
Deadlift (3 sets of 10)
Leg curls (3 sets of 10)
Superset of sitting and standing leg raises (3 sets of 10 each)
Ab circuit of hanging leg raises, weighted side situps and pikejacks (3 sets of 10 each)

Day 2:

Push press (4 sets of 4)
Bench Press (3 sets of 10)
1 arm rows (3 sets of 10)
Superset of unilateral inclined dumbell press and lat pulldowns (3 sets of 10 each)
Superset of shrugs and bicep curls (3 sets of 10 each)
Weighted abs

Day 3: Rest

Day 4:

Hang snatch (4 sets of 4)
Split squats (3 sets of 10)
Swiss ball unilateral dumbell press (3 sets of 10)
Superset of 1 arm shoulder press and back extensions (3 sets of 10 each)
Superset of reverse dumbell flyes and lat pulldowns (3 sets of 10 each)
Ab circuit of hanging leg raises, weighted side situps and pikejacks (3 sets of 10 each)

Day 5: Rest

I would like suggestions on improving the workout by adding exercise that might help or changing it in a way to benefit my goals.

Are your lifts in kg?

no they`re in lbs

I don't think someone with a 539 lbs bench press and 693 squat would ask for advice on workout goals.

Really, the program doesn't look that bad. If I were you, i'd go with a pre-written program though. Also, for what reasons are you including snatches? IMO, at your level, you'd be better off getting your deadlift up, and maybe doing hang power cleans, and possibly DB snatches.

The reason I suggest this, is that you cant possibly be snatching that much if you can only deadlift 275t.