T Nation

Advice on Ways to Reduce Weight Plate Loading Times

I've been training for a couple of months now and I'm having a bit of trouble. I want to do pyramid sets so my muscles become accustomed to the weight of the working sets but it takes me way too long to add weight plates to the barbell/dumbbells between sets. I don't like to rest more than 30 seconds unless I absolutely have to. I got rid of the spinlocks and now I'm using spring collars but it still takes too long. Any ideas, tips would be appreciated.

Also, I'm following the advice that I've found most people recommend for beginners. I train full body Mon, Wed and Fri. I've also been told not to let each session go for more than an hour. I've been following this advice but I really want to do more and feel that I can. What do you guys think is a good way for me to increase my weekly workload without overtraining or interferring with recovery time? What do you guys think about training muscle groups that are still sore from DOMS from the last workout? Personally, I LOVE the feeling of DOMS when my muscles are tight and aching but there seems to be a lot of disagreement about whether it's a good thing at all, whether you should train a muscle group still sore from DOMS or wait till it goes. What do you guys think?

P.S. - Yes I'm a complete nube so cut me some slack please.

Stop giving out advice for a while, forget what you think you know about lifting, read the stickied threads at the top of this forum, read the bodybuilding bible (a thread on this forum, search for it).

If you rest less than the time it takes to change plates, you're probably not using enough weight.

Working through soreness is good if you're still getting stronger but bad if you aren't.

Welcome to T-Nation.

Thanks for the advice. I did read a lot of the stickies here. I don't like to ask people questions before I've tried to find out myself.