T Nation

Advice on Squats

So I’m pretty new to weight lifting, but have started using Rippetoe.

Deadlift: 55kgs
Shoulder press: 35kgs
Bench press: 25kgs (plus bar which is about 15)
Squat: 30kgs (plus bar, again around 15)

A friend highlighted a problem: My Squat should be way higher than my other lifts, otherwise something is way out of balance. My squat isn’t more more than my shoulder press (with the bar included).

My form on my squats is good, though I do have to push my knees out as I press up as they have a tendency to want to turn inward.

I know most of these weights are probably nothing to most of you, but I’d really like some advice.

Thanks,
Sam

1. Squat more.
  2. Imagine “spreading the ground” with your feet.
  3. Keep squatting.

Some Good Mornings will also help your squat too, but really…you need to keep squatting.

I would advice you to squat and squat, because 30kg is not that much, the biggest thing that will bring up your squat at this point is more squatting. Good mornings and stuff like that wont help if you cant squat more then 100kg to begin with anyways. Hit the squats, and don’t neglect the glutes and hamstrings, and you should see that weight go up every week. Also taping yourself may show some obvious form problems that we cant see trough descriptions.

It should be - but you just started. You’re working on it. No big deal.

Cool. Maybe that’s all I needed to hear, just keep at it. Thanks guys.

Check the beginner forum. It will help you.

I’ve been doing Rippetoe for about 10 weeks now… Amazing program! Simple, and gets right to the guts of what us “newbies” should be doing in the gym…