T Nation

Advice on Nutrition and Program

Hey guys, I am fairly new to T-Nation. I have been reading a couple of articles and have become very interested. I am looking to gain around 10 - 15 lbs of LBM by the beginning of next season. I am a D-1 Varsity Soccer player and I am also a member of NROTC. I am a Marine Option.

I am currently 19 years old and have only really lifted in high school and college because of soccer. I have never lifted to gain any significant amount of muscle, but just to stay and shape and be strong enough to compete.

However, since I joined ROTC in my Freshman year, I have decided that it would not only be beneficial to gain some muscle for the Marine Corp, but it would assist me in my central defensive position. I am looking to gain muscle, but not at the expense of agility and speed.

I am currently 6’0" and 180lbs. I am not sure as to what my body percentage is, but I assume it is lower than 10%since I have visible abs. My goal is by pre-season in August to come in around 10-15lbs heavier. I have started a new program and need some pointers and recommedations.

Training Program-

Monday
Loading Movements
Incline DB Press 5X5
T-Bar Row 5X5
One Arm Incline Side Lateral 4X12
Pec Fly 5X8 w/30 sec rest
Pulldown 5X8 w/ 30sec rest
Incline DB Curl 5X8 w/ 30 sec rest
Decline Tricep DB ext. 5X8 w/30 sec rest

Tuesday
Squat 4X6
Romanian Deadlift 4X8
Calf raise 5X5
Close Stance Squat 2X15
Leg Curl 5X8 w/ 30 sec rest
Seated Calf Raise 4X15 w/ 20 sec rest

Wednesday
Off

Thursday
Military Press 5X5
Close Grip Bench 4X8
Preacher Curl 4X8
Flat low cable Cross 5X8 w/ 30 sec rest
Pullups 3XMax
L-dumbbell raise 5X8 w/ 25 sec rest

Friday (Light Legs)
Bulgarian Split Squat 3X8
Calf raise 3X20
Leg Curl 4X6
Leg Press 4X8

Saturday
Deadlift 4X10
Lying Tricep Ext 4X8
DB Bench 5X8
Chindown 3X10
20 min HIIT (usually sprint drills)

Sunday
Off