Advice on Love Handles

I have been doing sports for the last 5 years but from triatlon to weight lifting to boxing. Any advice on how to lose the love handles. They are very persistent…

i’m 193cm, 88kg and have bodyfat% of 16%

[quote]mistervega wrote:

I have been doing sports for the last 5 years but from triatlon to weight lifting to boxing. Any advice on how to lose the love handles. They are very persistent…

i’m 193cm, 88kg and have bodyfat% of 16% [/quote]
Build some muscle and lose fat all over and the love handles should go away, Not to sound offensive, but its not like everything else looks in order, and you just have these pesky love handles to deal with.

How much bodyfat one carries is far more a function of diet than it is of exercise. (As the saying goes, you can’t out-train a bad diet.) So if you want to lose those love handles, you’re going to have to diet. That said (and as Ecchastang alluded), you don’t seem to be carrying very much muscle at the moment, so dieting hard enough to lose your love handles is likely to leave you VERY thin-looking.

The point being, if your goal is physique enhancement and not just bodyfat loss, you would be well-served by dedicating a greater percentage of your exercise time/energy to weightlifting, and less to triathlons/boxing. Best of luck reaching your goals.

What, exactly did you eat yesterday?

And my new variation:

What exercise did you do last week?

I started doing starting strength in july, but can’t do squats now due to injury. I used to be a lot stronger, but weighed also about 115 kg.

my stats are (in kg, 1RM):
SQ: 80
BP:80
Pr:46
DL: 110

So I already started lifting, but still need a lot of work. I also try to do 1 run and 1 freestyle training per week.

What i ate yesterday: oatmeal for breakfast; some sandwiches with chicken for lunch, then at 16h cottage cheese, in the evening 4 eggs with some vegetables.