Advice on Knee Pain

Afternoon all,

Long time reader, (first time?) poster.

Stats are 26 years old, 6’2", currently nearing the end of a cut (peaked at 237lbs in March this year, now I’m down to 202lbs or so). I’ve been training seriously for about 3 years - my 1RM maxes at my max weight and fully healthy were 310lbs bench, 375lbs squat, 485lbs deadlift. Not huge but this is just to give you an idea of what ‘level’ I was/am at.

I’m wondering if anyone can give me some tips to address some knee pain I’ve had since August 2009. Probably stupid to post now given that it’s 90% better, but I suppose better late than never.

The pain was a sharp, but constant “pinching” feeling in both of my knees, just below the kneecap. The pain would worsen after sitting down or being on bended knee for extended periods (for example, when watching a movie in the cinema I would constantly have to extend my legs to take the pain away). I’m pretty sure it’s patellar tendonitis and I can pinpoint the exact moment it happened - I was doing some morning sprints in bad shoes on a concrete footpath down by the lake at a heavy weight. This proved to be a bad choice.

I couldn’t squat or deadlift for 2 months. I started slowly bringing them back in, and found that stretching my quads between sets made a significant difference (i.e. being able to squat for another 8 reps versus not being able to squat at all). The day after each workout my knees would feel awful but by the time the next leg workout came around the pain was tolerable. Running was completely out of the question, and every month or so I would try and play indoor football. This absolutely killed my knees and I wouldn’t be able to have a leg workout for at least a week or so afterwards.