Advice on Hitting Hamstrings Hard

I’m only a beginner concentrating on getting up to reasonable strength and focusing on my weak spots first. I’ve been working on my hamstrings and using Gironda’s advice to feel where it hits the muscle by how sore it is the next day. Nordic / Russian Curls seem to hit me hardest at the short head of the biceps femoris behind me knees on the outside. I want to target higher up and recruit more muscle. Contracting my glutes recruits higher on the curls but arches my lower back. I’m really strict about posture and form.

I’ve been doing reverse hyperextensions and contracting my glutes seems to allow me to recruit more ham muscle higher up. But as a beginner this is probably all CNS not physical.

I can’t do back squats, stiff leg DLs, RDLs and lots of other things due to back injuries. The eccentric phase of back squats in particular started to wake up my hamstrings but then I injured my back and I’ve had to adapt.

Bulgarian splits have helped a lot with balance and strength and I’m not up to the level of doing sets of 10 reps bodyweight yet - as in ATG bodyweight with good form. I can do Bulgarian splits ATG but I have to curl my upper body out of straight posture. But I’m doing sets of 6 well below parallel.

Leg press machine - can’t really do 1.8 x what I should be back squatting without lumbar and pelvis / femur ball joint pain.

Any type of bilateral squats I do I am unable to do low enough reps for progression. So all my leg work is unilateral just about.

Yesterday I just tried to hammer my hamstrings and I succeeded but the location of the pain tells me I’m not recruiting enough muscle. Again, surely CNS but I need to connect to these unused fibres.