T Nation

Advice: Lifting to Look Better

I am a newbie to lifting and I need some advice. My main goal I want to accomplish from lifting is looking better. I was just wondering what a program would look like for this. I am about 5’11 and weight 170ish. I lifted a lot about two years ago and loved it but then I plateued and could not get out of it because I really had no idea what I was doing when I went to the gym.

I did the same routine for the year and did pretty much all lifts 5x5. I went four days a week and did chest, back-mon, legs-tues, shoulders-wed, and arms on friday. From reading on this site with all the great advice everyone gives I can see many things I did wrong. I really want to get back into lifting and take it serious and get back into shape and look better.

Basically any program that has you adding weight to the bar at least ever week. You’re pretty light for 5’11".

I don’t think your split looks too bad. Neither does your idea of going 5x5. There isn’t anything magical (or wrong) about a particular set/rep range, as long as you are progressing.

Perhaps it is your nutrition that caused you to stall. What does your diet look like?

Try this:

Monday:
squat (real squats, no pussy shit)
leg press
leg extentions
calves

Tuesday:
Bench press variation
shoulder press variation
pec iso
rear delt flys
tricep variation

Thursday:
deadlift variation
hamstrings (don’t skip this)
row variation
pullup variation
curl

My diet is very weak. I really do not know much about dieting. I just try to eat as much protein as I can, and all I take for supplements is a shake, with some Biotest creatine after the workout. I need some help with my nutrition also. I dont understand much about what I need for growing, all I was ever taught was eat as much protein as possible.