Advice/Info on Adding Lean Mass

Hi, i’m looking for some advice/help regarding my training. I have been training on and off for around 10 years now. About 6 months ago I decided I needed to strip some fat off me and dieted down from 176lbs to 164. I then started eating a clean diet based on paleo eating and have stayed around the same weight for the last few months.

One of my problems is that I have been eating good throughout the week and then seem to put weight back on over the weekend. I have now decided that I have to knuckle down and get the last few pounds of fat on before I start trying to add some muscle.

10 years ago I can remember weighing around 140lbs and I was lean, so i’ve worked out that within the last 10 years i’ve only added around 10lbs of muscle. I think my main problem is that I go from trying to bulk for a few weeks where I do no cardio and all weights and then get bored and start adding cardio/circuit training.

I would like someone with experience to give me some advice on what I should do to start adding lean mass once I have finished the v diet.
Many thanks.

what are you stats besides weight? Height, aproximate body fat level, strength levels in some basic lifts? What are you basic training/diet principles?

It sounds like your trying to lose fat to gain definition of your muscles but the problem is likely only in part do to your fat levels. What may be an even larger contriputer to this is lack of muscle mass!

Just because your not “cut” doesnt mean you have a ton of fat you need to lose before trying to put on some muscle. Also if you planned on going straight from a very low calorie diet such as the V-diet and then upped your calories to build muscle your just setting yourself up to store fat. I would up your calories now and keep eating clean, lift hard and do some cardio if thats what you like to do.

I’m by no means the most experienced guy around here but I can pretty much put my finger on your exact problem.