T Nation

Advice for Two Month Mass Phase

Hi, All!

I am 30 yrs. old, 5'11, and currently 185 lbs. and 19% body fat. I am not new to lifting, but I am new to bodybuilding principles. Please read on for my context.

At my worst, I was at 218 lbs. Through regular diet and exercise (and a successful V-Diet), I have brought myself to my current 185 weight.

I am currently lifting twice a week, doing complex movements such as deadlifts, squats, bench presses, pull-ups, etc. My workout partner and I do one set of 10 for most exercises, followed by a 1-2 rep max. Excercises such as pull-ups and push-ups are one set as many as possible.

Diet-wise, I am following Shugart's 100 g. Carb Cure, so I am not counting exact calories. I eat some fruit in the morning and have Surge Recovery after my workout. Other than that, I stick to meat, green veggies, plain Greek yogurt, and protein shakes.

I am preparing to do my second Tough Mudder event, which is seven months out. My plan is to focus on these three things in this order: strength (two months), size (two months), and endurance (three months).

The first phase is to work (obviously) work on gaining strength as well as continuing to lose fat. I have already seen some strength gains.

The size phase will be all about adding muscle while minimizing fat gain.

The third phase (endurance) will be to lean up, as well as putting more focus on cardio and muscle endurance in preparation for Tough Mudder.

Obviously, two months will not be the end of the hypertrophy journey of my life, but I am specifically looking for advice to maximize my gains during this initial two month period.

I am planning to do a second V-Diet next month to strip away another 10 lbs or so of fat and look a little leaner for summer.

I am not looking to get bodybuilder big, but I do want to add some size and definition.

I realize there are tons of programs on this site, but some are older than others and I have limited knowledge of the bodybuilding game.