T Nation

Advice for TRT Patients

I am not an expert and can only base my advice on my experience . I am 45 who had low t and small nuts . After months of blood work my dr concluded I had primary hypo g . Classic high LH and fsh and low t and tiny nuts . He offered injectable T to me as a solution . I took the offer and injected for 8 weeks - then I developed ED and started being moody . I read about TRT and learned that T is directly related to E levels . Since dr never prescribed an AI my T rose along with my E rising ( blood test of 63 estrodiol 8-43 normal ) . MY ADVICE TO TRT PATIENTS IS TO EXPECT TO TREAT HIGH ESTROGEN IF YOU DO TRT .

Opposite in my situation.. We are all different.

I developed Gyno on a relatively low dose of Androgel but agree with Aces that we all react differently to treatment.

Most guys on TRT really do need anastrozole. The major problem here is doctors who are ignorant of the issues and effects. The only recourse are self education, seeking a new doctor or self-medication.

If one follows the typical advice that I and others promote, then they will end up with favourable E2 levels. If one's labs indicate that a few guys do not need an AI, that is also a logical outcome of the process.

So what do we do? Suggest that all start off with a recommended dose of anastrozole that works well for most guys and some have to reduce their dose to a 4th of the expected and a hand full require none? Or suggest that not one start with AI and have most guys suffer with high E2 first? The path seems clear to me. There is no method that will provide the optimal experience for everyone.