T Nation

Advice for Training and Nutrition

Hello, my first post.

I have been training for 3 months (2 times a week for 1 and a half months and 3 times a week since, plus I have added a light workout on most of my off days i.e. pull-ups push-ups and bodyweight squats).

I’m 24.
I weigh 136 pounds, I want to put on about 15 pounds.
I am 5ft 8in.
I eat around 3000cal per day with quite a lot of protein.
I have increased my lifts by about 2 and a half times (using mainly machines at the moment, but will progress to free weights soon) in these 3 months so I feel I’m doing pretty well for now?

I’m looking for a bit of general advice on a few topics. Firstly with regards to diet, I’m currently eating pretty well (I’d say 70% clean, 30% average) with no junk food or ready meals at all i.e. fast food, chocolate bars, sugary drinks etc…

Is this okay? A lot of the articles seem like religious doctrine to be followed to the book, will my diet sustain me for my first year of training or should I try and eat better?

I do 3 full body workouts per week at a high intensity including (started a couple leg exercises recently) approx 30 min cardio and 1hr weights. I like it this way, but I know I should be trying to do more free weights. Can I get good gains on the machines? I do 2 sets of 10 reps, the 10th rep being close to failure on each set. I do about 9 exercises, is this too many? I seem to have lots of energy to spare but I seem to lift quite heavy for my size and time training (compared to others in the gym).

I’m very committed to working out and am getting more serious as I progress.

Thanks in advance for advice.

there is no athleticism to these machines. instead of moving the weight to your curve, you move it to the curve of the machine so your joints may suffer and for sure your accessory muscles are dormant. so i am glad you are moving to free weights =)

2 sets of 10 reps is not enough volume or intensity. i am not sure of your goal but you need more.