T Nation

Advice for Short Workouts?

Because of my job I only have an hour to spend in the gym working out, my question is, should I be focusing only on one muscle during that hour and switch every day to a diferent muscle.

Right now I have been doing two muscles in the hour but I am not seeing ANY gains in any areas. I know I'm doing something wrong but I just don't know what it is. Any help would be great.

DO you have any familiarity with this site at all?

Look around. Use the search. Read the articles.

actually I'm not familiar with this site at all. I did search for it but I guess I'm not seeing what I was looking for. But I will keep searching.

Hey Buck - You want to start in the Beginner's Forum. There are lots of pointers and threads about basic programs over there. Read the Are You A Beginner thread. I'm in my first year too. I started by buying Starting Strength by Mark Rippetoe. He lays out a beginner program and teaches the basic lifts. There's a DVD as well. Other people do other programs. They work too. If you are new, you should see lots of progress because there's nowhere to go but up.

Diet... (are you gaining weight, how much g of protein do you eat per lb of bodyweight?)
Routine details...

Most likely that your diet is screwed and you are not making major strength gains across the board.

I'm gaining weight and making strength gains across the board. Doing it right?

1 hour is by no stretch, short. There's been times when I had to train 30-45 mins (school & work) and it worked just fine. Giant sets, super sets and short rest periods should work great. But in 1 hour, you shouldn't be worrying too much.