T Nation

Advice for Returning to Lifting?

I've been training for endurance cycling for a few years now but now I'm lacking the motivation to get out on the road alone every day. Over the past year I've started strength training again at a gym and I've really enjoyed the atmosphere.

I feel like I need a new challenge so I'm planning to take a period of time away from endurance training and really see what I can do with my physique. I used to strength train consistently years ago so my technique and understanding of training is good. Current stats:

6'1", 167lbs

Bench press: 215x3
Chins: BW + 22lbs for 3 sets of 8
Seated dumbell press: 70lb DBs for 3 sets of 5
Hang power clean: 155x3

Any advice on how to shift focus? How to approach training for lean mass for someone in my position? I'm lean but want to incorporate some interval training to maintain cardiovascular fitness so that I can get back to cycling when the time comes. Thanks for any help.

Hi buddy.
I enjoy a bit of road biking myself.
My advice to you, is that if you plan to return to the bike I would atleast include 2 bike rides a week. Stopping bike riding altogether will make the return to the bike very difficult.

tweet tweet

That's funny. I've been lifting for a while and decided to buy a road bike to work on my endurance and conditioning :slight_smile:
Mostly hills and sprinting interest me. I like the idea of adding mass to my legs while improving my conditioning (both aerobic and anaerobic). Any tips you can give me on that subject would be awesome.

Anyhow, for someone just looking to add some mass and strength over the short-term, there are some good no-fuss options. My favorite is to keep your routine basically the same, but ratchet the weight upwards without trying to stay in a particular rep range. After you get to a weight that you can't lift for 3 reps, drop it down to ~70% of your new max and start over. Using this method, the hypertrophy, power, and strength phases are a no-brainer.