Advice For Plan Of Attack

First a bit of history. I started training in middle school and then high school under a basic program, never really went too hard since the instructor was afraid of going too extreme. I never really made any progress in those times.

Then in college at age 20 I got motivated. Went on a rampage doing a self-designed program 3 times a week for about 15 weeks. I plateaud at week 11 and totally lost my motivation when I couldn’t change up to make what I deemed progress. I made badass improvement for that 11 weeks going from 135 to 185 bench and similar improvements (incremented 5 or 10 pounds per week) in legs as well. I did squats and/or leg presses to be well up over 500 press and approxamately 250 squat by 10 reps. I was feeling awesome with the progress till I plateaud.

During this timeframe I saw no real size improvement even though I felt my strength was going through the roof. When I plateaud (as I saw it then) I lost all motivation when after 5 weeks I couldn’t even tack on 5 pounds.

Fast forward 10 years to current day. I’m 5’11" 225 lbs, and what I’d assume as 20% BF. Hopefully I’m overestimating as even after getting the freshman gut I was only at about 10-12%.

I’ve been reading T-Mag for a few months, following as many links as I can and reading as much as possible. I’m finally comfortable with my knowledge and feel I’m ready to tackle this monster and take advantage of any genetic potential I have and then some.

Thinking back now in college I had two main problems. First one being obvious that I was probably severely overtraining as I was doing all body parts 3x a week at 10x3 for sets. No wave, no pyramid, nothing but flat sets. Second major problem that limited my hypertrophy had to be lack of protein/kcal ingestion as I was still eating a college kids diet and not increasing what I should have. A weak grocery store bought protein supp once a day wasn’t near enough.