Advice for Lean Defined Look?

Hi guys,

My goals are as follows:

1. Look good naked
  2. This would require me to put on some muscle mass while maintaining a low bf%.

Right away, I’d like to say that I’m just a regular guy, and I’m not looking to get big and huge.

I realize that this is a long term process, and hence I would like to plan out the entire body sculpting process. Currently, I’m at 149 lbs, 5’7’’ (not sure of bf%, I think its around 19% - I am rather skinny fat ie have a belly and some chest fat but no fat elsewhere). I’ve been doing the starting strength program for almost 4 months now.

My lifts are as follows:

Squat - 205lbs
Dead - 215 lbs
Bench - 115lbs
Row - 145 lbs
Overhead Press - 75 lbs

Yes, I am aware that my lifts should have been much higher by now. But unfortunately I had to take a 3 week break due to illness, and hence this hindered my progress.

So here are my questions:

1. Is Starting Strength a suitable workout, considering my goals. (ie I am not looking for a powerlifter physique)?
  2. At what point should I switch from Starting Strength? When should I add isolations and more upper body work?
  3. At what point should I focus on cutting down bf%, especially tummy fat?

Thanks!

1. No, if your goals are “look good naked,” Starting Strength is nowhere near the best way to accomplish that.

2. Considering your goals, you should switch from Starting Strength and add isolations and more upper body work NOW. A good idea would be to get yourself on a well-planned Bodybuilding split… lots of examples in this thread Do This Routine Instead of That Dumb One - Competitive Bodybuilding - Forums - T Nation
    You don’t HAVE to choose something from there, but anything like that would be much better for making you aesthetic, than starting strength.