T Nation

Advice for a Complete Newbie!

Hi, guys i joined a local gym recently to get myself in to shape, after a consultatio the programme i was given was bicep and leg curls, vertical chest press, leg extensions, lat pulldowns, shoulder press, tricep push downs and standing calf raises 3 sets of 16 reps on each monday and friday and then wensday work cardio.

But after reading these forums im not sure weather this routine is that good as it doesnt include any squats/deadlifts etc and isit better to split the routine.

Any help would be much appreciated, ay thoughts on the abercrombie workout seems a popular workout in some places.

please help i need some guidance from experienced people

Programs don't matter much. Give it time and if you see progress then it works. If you don't see progress then try something else. Squats and dead lifts are important. Add them to your program if you feel you need to.

The best and worst thing about lifting is that there is no 'right' way. It's not always black and white.

Sounds like you got a shit program from a personal trainer who doesn't know what they are talking about... Is your goal muscle gain?? If it is then the program sucks.. If I were you I would be doing bench, squat, chins, deadlift, rows, dips and military presses (not all in one day ofcourse), & read some articles

Its a terrible program, period.

yeah, i did think it was a bit of an off programme, especially after reading the articles on here and other sites, thats why i poseted, its all machines aswell.

my main problem is i dont know what excercises to do together, thanks for the replies guys

try rippetoe's starting strength program. Just search for it.

or find a trainer who knows what hes talking about