Advice about my Beginner's Program

Hi All,

I am new to this forum so I will try and be short and straight to the point. I am a beginner (I am 20, 5’8" 81kg) who is looking to lose fat and have well-defined muscles, especially pecs and abs (cos they are currently emersed in fat and I don’t like it), but also gain strength and look fit. So I am starting on the following programme and I want your advice on it:

2-3 × days cardio:- so 2/3 days I would do general fitness run to try and improve my cardio in general cos its very bad (and help me have a good foundation for HIIT), so perhaps do 2-4miles at a speed of 10kph (that’s what I can do at this stage) and try and increase the speed every week. The third day I would do a 1hr jog at a suitable speed that I can maintain (again I would try and improve that every week)

3 × days weights:- I found a programme on youtube by a guy called Alan Thrall, he made a 3-day programme (mainly using the 5×5 method). In short, it’s relying on warming up with high volume low-intensity explosive moves (pushups, etc), then 5 by 5 moderate volume and intensity barbell-based weights (squats, bench press, etc) and finally ‘assistance’ exercises of low vol high intensity (stiff leg DLs, front squats, etc)

If you guys can criticise this or give me any advice, I will be very grateful.

Thanks

Looks like a fair bit of work for a beginner so if you feel tired a lot, don’t be surprised.

What are you eating?

What other life stresses do you have?

1 Like

Sounds like a solid plan to me.

I’m not familiar with this particular program, but Alan Thrall is fantastic. Great info on his youtube channel. He’s a well respected coach. On the whole, I see no problem with lifting three days per week and doing some active cardio days when you aren’t lifting. If you find that the conditioning days are too much, then pull back and walk more to let yourself recover.