T Nation

Advice/1-RM Prediction Equations

I am a student who is conducting a simple small scale test to predict 1-RM from multiple rep predictions. I have observed that the strongest people in most gyms (presumable with a high ratio of fast twitch muscle fibres) aren?t represented by 1-RM prediction tests in that they are not usually able to perform as many repetitions with a % of their 1-RM as would be predicted from theses equations. For example I can incline bench 400lbs 1-RM and on this basis should be able to do 5 reps at 90% and 8-10reps at 80% when in reality all I am able to do is 3 reps at 90% and 7 reps at 80% and I have witnessed this phenomenon on a number of occasions. Therefore if these prediction equations were used for me they would under predict my 1-RM. My intention is to work backwards by measuring 1-RM in a strength trained athlete and then 48 hours later perform as many reps as possible at 90% of the 1-RM and then another 48 hours later perform as many reps as possible at 80% and then compare this with the current literature and recommend a prediction equation which is specific to this individual.
Any thoughts on theories on this phenomena such as fibre type, Habitualisation, etc would be really appreciated. Additionally if anyone can think of ways to improve the testing protocols and suggest relevant references I would be grateful.
Thanks
Dave

I'm sorry, but in my experience these equations are worthless.

However, for me increasing any number usually will cause the other numbers ot increase. If my 1 rm increases, my 10 rep max and so on increase.

The problem is taking these %s and applying them to someone else.

Such equations seem inherrently flawed given what I've read about Type I and Type II muscle fiber and how it affects lifting capacity to have more of one versus another.