T Nation

Advancing Through my Newbie Stages

Alrighty guys and gals, I’ve been training hard and long for 2 years. I’ve been a pretty skinny kid until age 8 when I tore my ACL. I’ve always been somewhat on the chunky side the rest of my life afterwards. I have come to realize in the training that I have been doing, I feel sometimes it doesn’t really work out for me.

I feel no gains at most times, just the toning of the muscles. I’ve done drop sets, double drops, triple drops, you name it. I’ve done alot of my training at a commercial gym. Now I am limited to a little home universal gym and plan on getting a squat rack, I already have a bench. I know how my body works to a certain extent and some of my friends have even called me “Alchemist” deriving Zane’s name, putting it together with mine. A recent workout I have been on goes like this:

Monday- Back Biceps

Bent Over Barbell Rows
One Arm Dumbbell Rows
Seated Rows
Behind The Neck Pull Downs
Pullups

Straight Bar Curls
Single Arm Concentration Curls
Preacher Curls

Tuesdays- Chest Triceps

Bench Press
Floor Press
Flys on bench
Pec Dec

Pushdowns (straight bar)
Pushdowns (curled bar)
Overhead Extensions combo with Skullcrushers

Wednesday- Legs

Lunges with barbell
Leg Extensions
Seated Calf Raises with Barbell

Thursday- Off

Friday- Back Biceps

Saturday- Off

Sunday- Legs

Monday- Triceps

Tuesday- Off

Wednesday- Off

Thursday- Legs

Friday- Triceps

Saturday- Biceps

Sunday- Off

Oh and I am also 6 Foot 178 lbs currently. My wieght fluctuates with the seasons due to eating habits and diets.

Any opinions on what to change or how to get bigger. I don’t want to hear about eating and trainiing the way Yates suggests cus I already tried it and it surpassed my off season weight of 190 lbs. Suggestions, tips, advice would be really appreciated :slight_smile:

Thanks,

E- Train

My quick opinion: