T Nation

'Advanced Beginner' Trying to Stop Messing Up

I started lifting about 3 years ago, and while I am extremely happy with how much better I feel today, I am by no means satisfied with my progress.

I am 6'1, 23 years old, roughly 20% bodyfat at 215 pounds.

When I was 19, I used to run 6 miles a day, every day, sometimes more on the weekends. This led me to develop the wonderful physique of weighing 180 pounds at 20% body fat. Basically I had a big barrel gut attached to a couple malnourished arms and legs.

Right about the time I turned 20 I woke up and realized how much this sucked at started lifting instead.

For the first year I made very good progress. Then I spent three months in Europe, trained the best I could with what I had available, but ended up regressing a bit anyways. Back in the states, I spent the next 3 months getting back to where I was when I left 6 months ago.

At this point, I decided to set a goal of reaching a 1000 pound total, which I hit about 6 months later by setting PRs of 245 Bench, 425 Dead, 345 Squat all in the same week. Problem was, I ballooned up to a body weight of 245 in the process. Cool if it's all muscle, kinda shitty if it's not... which of course, it wasn't.

I soon realized living at the fat extreme was just as shitty as living at the scrawny extreme and decided to cut. I took the V-Diet Challenge, which, at the time, was a far cry from its current incarnation. It was basically a post from Chris saying "I tried drinking Grow! all day and walked a lot and had a solid meal once a week and got really lean... you should too!" So I did. This is said only somewhat in jest, as that was essentially the program I followed.

It worked fairly well in the sense that I dropped 30 pounds in a month, down to 215. Each of my lifts also dropped about 30 pounds, and I've been trying to get them back ever since while trying not to bulk over 215 pounds.