Adding Too Much Fat, Not Enough Muscle

I’ve been lifting weights twice a week for six months, very traditional barbell routine: back squats, front squats, bench press, deadlift, chin ups, dips, very gradually increasing the weight.

I’ve also increased my intake of calories, with the aim of gaining a half a pound a week. Over six months, I’ve gone from 133 lbs to 145 lbs. So far, so good. I’ve also gone from 12% body fat to 17% (measured with a “Bod Pod”).

But this means I’ve gained three pounds of muscle and nine pounds of fat. I think this is too much fat and not enough muscle.

Can someone please reveal what the solution here is? I am guessing it’s not eat less. Should I just keep eating as I have been and lift weights three or four days a week?

What did you eat yesterday?

How much stronger did you get?

“Calories are permissive to the muscle building process. The driving force behind muscle growth happens in a gym, in a syringe or the combination of the two. Yes, Protein is also important. If you are not eating ‘enough’ you can hinder muscle growth. But once you start eating just ?enough?, eating any more on top of that will not FORCE more muscle growth.”

(Brad Pilon)

I feel it will be difficult to add muscle training only twice a week.

Yesterday? Literally:
Breakfast: Two eggs, two pieces of toast, coffee & milk
Lunch: Footlong roast beef sandwich
Dinner: Chicken burrito
Snack: An apple

I am this much stronger:
Back squat started at 85x3x5, now it’s 150x3x5
Bench press started at 65x3x5, now it’s 135x2x3

I know those are small weights, but note that I am not a big guy, I’m in my mid-forties, and I’ve never lifted before.

Train harder, get on a program that incorporates progression so you’re doing “more” every workout, whether it be total poundage, increases in sets, reps, weight etc. over time.

You’re eating too much and not training hard enough for your genetic makeup.

What does your lifting routine look like?