Adding Muscle to My Runner's Body

Hey guys, I’m 17 years old and I’m a college freshman. I’ve always been a very fit kid, playings lots of sports and running. But lately I’ve been interested in building some muscle. I don’t think I have the same goals as some of you on the boards, for example I’m not trying to be the next Arnold Schwarzenegger. My major goal is to turn my runners body (6’ tall, 135 lbs.) into something with a little more mass and muscle.

I have a bench, barbell and a barbell curl plus weights. I don’t own any dumbells or anything but I was wondering if I could find a routine that is mostly all barbell?

A friend of mine who plays football printed out a workout made by Mark Rippetoe. I’ve been doing it for about three months and I’ve gained more muscle but not that much more mass. I also don’t always feel 100% tired after. I was wondering if anyone recommends a basic workout I can work from that is designed to gain mass? As I said anything that is mostly (if not all) barbell related is what I’m looking for.

I’m also a college student so I’m not exactly the most healthiest eater. I’ve decided that if I can find a good workout routine I’ll invest some money in supplements. My football friends have said that weight gainers are a joke but I don’t know if they’re accurate. I’ve tried their Whey Protein which tastes awful, but the Big 100 protein bars aren’t bad.

Do you have any advice for me? I look forward to contributing more to the forums.

Thank you!

EAT…

LOTS

OF

FOOD.

and don’t run as much.(really, I’m not being facetious)

and a gallon of milk a day really does work wonders.

[quote]matsm21 wrote:
and don’t run as much.(really, I’m not being facetious)[/quote]

Yeah I’ve actually been told that. I haven’t ran for a few weeks and I don’t plan on doing it. But can anyone help me out with my workout routine dilemma?

yea eat lots of food buddy and keep regular on your workouts.