Adding Leg Size With Knee Issues

I’ve been lifting for about 25 years and with that comes some injuries and just plain old wear and tear. I can’t really squat free weight anymore as my knees hurt too much. However, I can do the leg press, squat machine, smith squat, leg extensions, and stiff legged deads.

I’ve lost a lot of size in my legs over the years and I’m currently doing a Test/NPP blast to add some muscle. Anybody have any suggestions/routines/programs to add muscle mass in my legs?

Without knowing your specific knee issues, it’s hard to say. An IT band issue is different from patellar tendonitis, which is different from irritated bursae, which is different from arthritis, etc etc etc.

But that being said, it sounds like you’ve found a few things that work for you. You didn’t mention it, but can you do leg curls? If so, I’d just keep it simple, and do something like this: 3-5 sets of 10-20 on the leg press (I like a lot of rep freedom in my programming, and I like variety), 3 sets of 10 leg curls, and 3 sets of 10 stiff leg deads. You can grow just from that. Just keep it simple, and keep the reps high, there’s no need to go heavy on any of these. I’d do that once a week. If you want to do more work, I’d add bulgarian split squats at the end (if you’re able to do them).

1 Like

Thanks @flipcollar. Yes I can do leg curls and extensions. Pretty much anything excepts squats and I think its because of the balance required in my knees. (does that make sense?)

I usually do about 6 sets on the leg press loading up to 6 plates on a side. I also vary my foot position as well. What do you think about hitting legs twice a week? One heavy and one light?

got pain with bulgarians and lunges too?

I haven’t done lunges in a LONG time and never tried bulgarians but based on what I’ve seen, that would put a lot of pressure on my knees.

No idea if this would do, but if you try and it does let us know!