T Nation

Adding Cardio to the Mix

Hey guys. I am currently doing a 5 day split:

Mon:Chest
Tues:Back
Wed:Shoulders
Thurs:Legs
Fri:Arms

I am a beginner who is 6'1 195 lbs. I really like the program, and people have okayed my routine and the exercises so I am not looking to switch up my lifting routine. However, as you can see from my picture I am a fatass. What bf% am I at? I wear a size 34 jeans, but they are starting to not fit quite right and I definitely do not want to go up a pant size for all my pants. I want to gain lean mass, but I am also hoping to cut my waist down a little. I want to throw in some cardio into my training, but I want to do it properly so it won't kill my lean gains. If I am working out 5 x a week, would cardio after lifting be overkill? I would imagine it would be best to lift and then run for a little bit after at a decent pace. My ultimate goal is to have about a 32 inch waist and have lean muscle. I am NOT looking to be big and meaty I just want to be lean and muscular. I am working on my diet currently, and looking to have as clean a diet as humanly possible.

My main question is how can I best incorporate cardio into my program, and is it possible to lose a little fat while gaining lean muscle if my diet is in order? Thanks a lot for your help guys!

[quote]DanJS14 wrote:
My ultimate goal is to have about a 32 inch waist and have lean muscle.[/quote]

all muscle is “lean”… Thats like saying you need to go to the ATM machine lol

[quote]DanJS14 wrote:
am working on my diet currently, and looking to have as clean a diet as humanly possible.[/quote]

This is the big item right here^^ Post your diet and you’ll get tips/critiques on it.

[quote]DanJS14 wrote:
it possible to lose a little fat while gaining lean muscle if my diet is in order? [/quote]

Yes it is possible. Like i said above your diet is going to be the big issue here. You need to get your diet in order ASAP.